sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Not Much
Thursday, Jul. 29, 2004

A bit of an overwrought entry yesterday, I'm sad to say.

I have been reading Robert Louis Stevenson's The Amateur Emigrant, which is reminding me terribly of The Aka Demon. I realized, yesterday, as I was getting ready to take Max out for a belated birthday dinner, that once I would have given anything to have The Aka Demon but that now I wouldn't lay eyes on him even if given the chance. What foolishness it all was--except that I am grateful to him for the catalytic effect he had on my life. I changed it all for a chance with him, and thank god it never panned out, but what is left is a beautiful, changed life that I owe, in part, to the effect of the angel who came disguised as the Aka Demon.

But what comes next?

If I'm being ambitious, it's graduate school. If I'm not being ambitious, it's some half-heartedly dead end job. Which makes the choice between ambitious and not ambitious rather easy, doesn't it?

I'm applying to UPitt, NYU, Rockefeller (if only to have their rejection letter for my scrapbook), UT Austin, and a few other places. We'll see, huh? We shall see.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.