sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

As Good An Evening As They Come
Tuesday, Jul. 13, 2004

Fabulous sushi dinner tonight with Mayflower and The Enforcer.

I love it when The Enforcer comes out, because that guy? Is goddamned funny. He seriously almost had me shooting hamachi out of my nose. And, I'll tell you, there's something you don't want to do, because wasabi? Burns like a motherfucker when it hits the mucosal lining of your nasal cavity. Also? The Enforcer has an even greater bank of knowledge about serial killers than I do--and that's no easy feat considering that I spent about six or seven years of my life reading books about Ted Bundy and Charles Manson and Ed Gein and their ilk as well as every Mafia book I could get my hands on. Plus The Enforcer, being an enforcer, has all the inside info on all the bad cops in this town. And I love me some cops gone bad stories. (Tonight it was about some guy who used to stop Mexican guys for traffic violations and then pull a gun on the guy(s) and demand impromptu blow jobs at gunpoint. Beautiful stuff, let me tell you.) And when you combine a good serial killer story with a cop gone bad story with sushi? Man, there's Sublingua's idea of heaven right there.

And the best part about it? Was that Mayflower and The Enforcer sprung for dinner because I have spent a total of six hours of my life helping Mayflower with part of her thesis (and an article that is going to be submitted for publication in an immunogenetics journal). And immunogenetics, while being some seriously interesting shit, is forcing me to strip all my gears trying to keep track of what in the hell is going on. But I'm learning about new stuff too, like how to perform walking genome experiments and how BAC cloning works. It's beautiful.

And I must smell like a girl who loves sushi, because the sushi chef (a Korean gentleman who was, I'm thinking, the model for Jackie Chan's drunken master--and I know I'm crossing like a million cultural borders right there, but it's god's truth, pacific rim division), well, that guy kept fucking giving me the eye all through dinner. And I kept shoveling sushi and smiling right back because we all know that Sublingua is a girl who would do just about anything for a bit of gratis sashimi, right? Riiight.

And then? Some guy actually followed me out of the restaurant--and thank fucking god that The Enforcer and Mayflower had just stepped outside to wait for me (I had to hit the restrooms on the way out), because I don't know what that guy had in mind, but he made to like he was going to come and talk to me before The Enforcer stepped up and gave him that "how you doin'?" guy nod--but very friendly like, so that the guy kind of backed off.

I don't know that I'll ever get used to strangers--men, I mean--approaching me. I'm very wary of this in any situation--and I tend to get mean when I don't know the guy. Like I'm going to let myself get approached by some guy I don't know? I don't fucking think so.

And then when I was safely in my car, on the way home, Rutgirl called me to say that she'd be in town this weekend. I haven't talked to Rutgirl since last Christmas--and she was wandering the toy aisle at Wal-mart and just decided to call me. I talked to her for a while and made a date for the weekend.

And now? I'm full up with raw fish, my fingers smell all fishy, and I'm so ready for a nice long---night's sleep.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.