sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

HFD: Here Find Demons?
Thursday, Jul. 08, 2004

What Do You Think A Ticket To Hawaii Might Run Me?

Honolulu Fire Department is sitting less than five feet from me. And, damn, does he smell good�very manly, and not at all like all that sickening paint thinner-esque cologne which smells (as Sophistica says) like rotting plastic fruit.

I was actually going to write an entry�or at least part of an entry--about him today, as he unexpectedly showed up to they gym at the same time I did. (And this is not my usual workout time�but it probably will be from now on.) He is not, sadly, wearing his HFD t-shirt, but rather some grey and red university-logo�d shirt. What was I going to write about him? God, I was probably just going to wax on about his perfect form and perfect physique, the way his back forms that gorgeous muscular inverted triangle, and�I think I may have to wrap this up soon and go home for a bit. But, no, seriously, I did notice his perfect technique, his focus, his intensity�all of these characteristics and qualities that I aspire to.

(Ooops, there he goes. He was just in here to check his email.)

I also happened to notice how good he smelled earlier when I was standing in line behind him at the water fountain�a total coincidence, let me tell you. Also? I lift as much as he does in his warm up rounds of chest presses. And also? I�m straining here to find some things that I have in common with some guy who I hope never to talk to so as to allow him to maintain his mystique and to continue to loom large in my gym life. And, also? A gym crush is just the thing I need to get me to the gym since Happy Quarter disappeared some time ago, and I have just been going through the motions, working through the inevitable sense that comes with the loss of my dearest Happy Quarter.

Would You Like A Thesis With That Coffee?

I have agreed, because I am out of my mind, to go a couple of times a week to meet Mayflower at a caf� and work on my own stuff while she works on her thesis. If she stays home, she says, she ends up looking at slash on the �net all afternoon, and if she stays at work, she ends up�doing I don�t know what�though you can be sure that it includes neither work nor writing her thesis. So, I shouldn�t sound so bitter. My heart loves Mayflower, and I really need to get out of my apartment from time to time when the sun is shining (because lately I�ve been such a vampire about things, only venturing out after the sun has set).

We�ll see how the boundaries are going to have to be set�of if they�ll even have to be set. Sometimes Mayflower is a much tougher taskmistress than I could ever be.

Again With The Rape Of The Culture

Soph mentioned a few weeks ago having rented the first seasons of The Sopranos--a series that I really like and which get to see rarely, what with not having cable--or a television for that matter. I did, pre-divorce, rent as many episodes as I could get my hands on, including the forementioned first season...Um, this had a point when I started, but is already getting fuzzy, as, needless to say, I was up all night watching episodes of The Sopranos. I love Michael Imperioli. 'Nuff said.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.