sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Demons With Baby Demons
Saturday, Jul. 03, 2004

Demons With Little Baby Demons

I spent a most pleasant evening with Ladas and his family and Max.

Ladas and Ladas Chica have five children between them (three older children that Ladas Chica brought along when she married Ladas, and the two that they've had in the six years that they've been married). Only the youngest two, their two, were home for the evening, as the oldest three had gone off to spend the weekend with their father.

When we arrived, Ladas Chica had a houseful of boys, her two, her brother's two sons, and another boy who just seemed to have slipped in unnoticed, and who slipped out the same way a bit later. This is a picture of one of the two younger Ladas boys. The teevee is about three inches from his eyes in this picture, which is how I used to watch teevee. I was so amused by this universal American child trait that I had to take this picture.

I took this picture of Baby Ladas and me as I was showing Baby Ladas how to use the camera.

After I took this, I gave the camera to Baby Ladas, who is all of two years old. ("How old are you?" I asked him. His mom said, "Tell her how old you are." He replied, proudly, "Three!" His dad said, "You're not three! Tell her how old you really are." Baby Ladas refused. "He's two," his daddy said. "You're really two," he informed Baby Ladas.) Baby Ladas took the camera and took a picture of his own feet and a picture of me. (I'll let you figure out which is which.)

Before dinner, Max took this picture of Ladas playing Airplane with his two sons.

There are, incidentally, no pictures of Ladas's beautiful wife because I didn't manage to capture a picture of her that doesn't feature her face (and I wouldn't post anyone's face on here whose permission I had not obtained beforehand).

They have an interesting marriage. Ladas Chica is about eight years older than Ladas, and they met while he was on his mission and staying in a house owned by her parents. She was twenty-eight and he was twenty-one when they met and fell in love. (She says, "Everyone around me kept saying, 'I think Elder Ladas has the hots for you,' and I was, like, he's just a kid.") Ladas Chica told us about another missionary, this one nineteen-years-old who is now staying in the house that Ladas stayed in when he met his Chica. The new, young missionary flirts up a storm with Chica, so I teased Ladas, "You'd better watch out. That's how you got her."

It was nice to spend time with such a traditional kind of family. (Certainly none of my other friends have this kind of set-up, complete with absolutely gorgeous children and a house full of toys and a yard full of bikes laid carelessly on the lawn.) It seems like such a nice, normal existence, and I have to admit that I would be dead in about a week if I tried to live one like it.

And just to show what direction my life is more truthfully heading in, here is a bad photo of me and The Demon Who Always Does The Right Thing on the The Demon Grrlfriend's (s)old motorcycle.

Don't we look a happy couple?

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.