sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Meet The Demons
Thursday, Jun. 24, 2004

So what do I do besides make art, work out, read?

Why, I wrangle demons, of course.

I started wrangling demons about ten months ago. I started after reading Lynda Barry's fabulous book in which she tells of the Buddhist exercise of working your way towards enlightenment by wrangling one-hundred demons. (The style of that last sentence is, of course, my literary homage to Lynda Barry.)

So I started to, just as Lynda had, paint my demons. I pulled out my old Japanese calligraphy set from high school, and I drew and painted my demons and I hung them on my walls. It became something of an obsession for me. People would come over to my apartment, and see the demons that covered my walls, and they would...kind...of...be worried about my mental well-being. I won't say how worried, but most of those people have never set foot in my apartment again.

Then Rockabillybabe Mel's beautiful but beautiful and icy cold friend came up with the great question of: If you were a demon in someone else's life, what demon are you? I thought she was brilliant, so I began to ask my friends what demon they were. Meg the Beauty said that she was The Demon Of Ending Friendship Sex. Mel said she was The Demon You Wish You'd Stayed With And Not Cheated On And Gotten Married To. Mayflower said she'd be The Demon Procrastinator. (To which I replied, to x's enduring delight, "What? You couldn't have waited until tomorrow to tell me that?") Sophistica said she'd name her demon "Stelllla! Stellllla!" (I just called her The Demon Whose Wit I Am Supremely Jealous Of.) Then she topped herself by saying that I, your gentle hostess, was The Demon Who Always Had To Have The Last Word. And everyone I've said that to says some variation of "Yeah, you are."

But me? I just call myself The Demon Wrangler.

I wrangle demons. I wrangle my own personal demons for your entertainment and my own karmic benefit. Sometimes I succeed spectacularly. Sometimes I fail miserably. But I'm doing it. I'm doing it. Every day I'm facing down the demons. Every day they teach me something new.

I've wrangled The Aka Demon and The Demon Who Finishes The Job. I've wrangled The Demon With Jealousy For Buttons. I've wrangled The Demon Who Never Knew Her Own Strength. I've wrangled Demon #35: Father and Demon #36: Mother. I've wrangled The Demon With No Talent and The Demon Of What You Are Supposed To Look Like.

I've earned my Demon Wrangler stripes, baby.

Want to meet The Demons?

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.