sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

The Demon Distracted
Monday, Jun. 07, 2004

The Wal-Mart Visit, Continued

So, yeah, the corner of shame: That corner back near the pharmacy where all your feminine hygiene needs can be met. I needed the inevitable monthly supplies.

And now I'm bored with this story.

Maybe You Can Talk About The Gym Instead, Sublingua

Okay.

I was the only person wearing a John Milton Conference t-shirt in the gym today. Aren't you impressed?

That Was Not Nearly As Exciting As We Hoped It Would Be, Sublingua. Can You Tell Us Anything About Sushi?

Well, hell, yeah, I can.

I went to sushi dinner with a friend tonight at the sushi place that's, like, three blocks from my apartment. Normally, I don't really like to go there or to any sushi place run by Vietnamese folks--not because I have anything against the Vietnamese, but just because, being Mexican, I'd never, for example, willingly walk into a Mexican restaurant run by, say, Dutch people.

Anyway, the place is at the edge of the student ghetto and consequently draws a lot of students who have little to no experience sushi-wise. But they've heard that sushi's good, and it seems like a sophisticated thing to like it maybe? Maybe. But then they do things like my friend does when he, for example, takes a piece of nigiri sushi and then soaks it, rice side down, in a dish of soy sauce until he has basically a little bowl of soy sauce and rice soup. And, you know, there ain't no way to eat that little treat with chopsticks, baby. I've never really seen anyone slurp down sushi in quite the same way.

The other thing is that I get a lot of stares when I eat with my fingers. Nevermind that the other diners are busy trying to disassemble (or worse, wear) pieces of their California rolls because their chopsticks technique leaves much to be desired, but they see me touch something with my fingers and I get these looks like I'm an uncivilized heathen.

Also? I'm a snob.

There it is. You heard it here first.

You Bore Us With Your Snobbery, Sublingua!

Well, have a list then.

I am grateful. For all of it. Especially the sunset. Every minute of it that I could see while we drove around the city after a relatively decent sushi dinner.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.