sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

The Demon Who Cast Fu, Failed Mayflower, Deceived Her Friends--But Artfully, Ever Artfully
Sunday, May. 16, 2004

Cast Away

Fu and Aisho were in the studio this morning so that I could cast Fu's hands and face. Fu was very calm through the whole thing, but I was a nervous wreck. I don't know why it made me so nervous. I hadn't been so jumpy since I cast the Aka Demon, The Demon I Left My Husband To Chase. Perhaps it was Fu's extreme calmness, or Aisho's looking on, or Max's offers of help, or the presence of so many distracting monkeys in a studio that had been quiet until a few minutes after Aisho and Fu arrived.

It went relatively quickly, however, though the casts were not the best I've done--something that doesn't quite matter at the moment as there isn't time to turn out any real work with them.

And speaking of real work, I finished glazing and am, even as you read this, firing the Aisho pieces of which there are three. The first is called, "What did you think of me then, and what do you think of me now?" (and is composed of two casts, one glazed and one written on. The glazed cast is held by two hands that are written on, and is meant to resemble a mask being removed.) The second is the Aisho's hand (Fu took one look and pronounced it "scary") called "Found Bhutadamara Mudra." (Oddly, I just google searched for the correct spelling of "bhutadamara" and the first entry explains that this is "a demon dispelling mudra." Strange. And here I thought I was The Demon Wrangler.) The third is called "Where to find what is lost too soon." (This was the hardest to compose and glaze and the one I'm least sure of. It's basically an attempt at a coral reef, but...I grew up in the desert, so you really kind of have to adjust for that little fact. And now I'm just making excuses, so I'm going to close these parentheses and move on, yeah?) If there is time, I may post pictures. But I can tell you that there is very likely to be no time.

Bring Mayflowers

An interesting conversation with the Aisho about Mayflower, who was in top Mayflower form the last time we went in for sushi. He asked if Mayflower had been--and I forget the words he used--perhaps it was "unhappy" or "angry" (?). I found myself in the unenviable position of having to explain to someone who doesn't know the Mayflower about the Mayflower, which is not easy. The Mayflower, I tried to explain, is just unhappy. She has everything--a loving and devoted husband, a beautiful home, an MS on the way, a really cool job, the groundwork laid for a baby within the next year or so, and so on and so on--and sadly, she is unable to see these things for the blessings that they are; she is grateful for none of it. She's unhappy with herself, so nothing else makes her happy. She doesn't like herself, so she assumes that no one else likes her either. But as much as this explanation takes into account, much it leaves out. I failed, for instance, to explain the part about how much I love Mayflower, the part about how she has saved my life more times than I care to admit, the part about how she has too often been a better friend to me than I have been to her. I forgot to say this important stuff to the Aisho about the Mayflower, and so I failed at expressing any true sense of who she is and what ails her.

Dinner? Why I'd Love To!

Have to dash as I'm meeting Judi and Paul for dinner at this new Jamaican place. They're calling it, in their confusion, a farewell dinner. We'll see.

Updated to add:

Just back from dinner with Paul and Judi. We did go to the Jamaican place and it was only so-so. There was an excessively loud reggae band whose members consisted, of course, of a group of entirely white boys whose frat hazing days are likely still fresh in their memories. (This also, in our sad little town, seems to be the population from which many a "blues" band is composed--so much so that I have just gone ahead and lumped them all together into the "drunk white frat boy sings the blues" category. Lady Day they ain't, not a one of them.) Um. Anyway, so I had the goat curry which was served with rice and beans (a version of New Orleans dirty rice) and some steamed zucchini. I did manage to catch a buzz off the several tablespoonsful of hot sauce that I poured over everything. Man, I love me a chile high. Afterwards, we all went over to Paul and Judi's house and Judi fixed a pot of my favorite coffee, Chock Full O' Methamphetamines, and we ate a dessert smorgasbord that consisted of shared slices of key lime pie, ricotta cheesecake, and a huge chocolate eclair. I got to play tug of war with my dog Cooper. And I think maybe the coffee was a bit too strong because now I'm just babbling, aren't I? But you do find the sad little details of my sad little life interesting, don't you?

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.