sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

The Demon With Two Names
Tuesday, May. 04, 2004

My Angst Has A First Name--

After Sunday's sushi extravaganza (and of course the dilemma here is whether or not to spell extravaganza the way pro wrestlers do, starting with an X and ending with a few A's and exclaimation points), I have not been eating too well. I have this fear you see, that one night of rice and raw fish (and plenty of sake and beer) are the first step down a too familiar slippery slope. And I've been feeling lackadaisical about the gym as well and I should run two days off together and try to get some rest, but then The Fat Demon Alert would be blaring in my ears all day, Harrison Bergeron-like so that I couldn't think think think of anything at all but the gym the gym the gym the gym. And, well, you get the idea. I need a life.

My Angst Has A Second Name--

So I went to the studio. A few years ago, when I started in clay, Martin told me this story--kind of a myth really--about a man who went to dinner at a potter friend's house. After dinner, the man offered to help with the dishes, and the potter just laughed. He took the man out back and showed him the pile of broken pottery that was the culmination of years of never having to wash another dish. This story kills me. (Almost as much as a guy I knew whose West Point alumni daddy told him about putting dirty dishes in the freezer. Think about it.) Anyway, so I made a few throw-away plates. One I called "What did you think of me then?" and the other, its twin, I called, "And what do you think of me now?" I made a bowl and a small platter and a soap dish. I used FeO to stain the box that the Aisho-san's head is going in. I built a potential box for my little Yama-san's head. I sat and stared at the clay while it firmed up. (And yes, it is only slightly more exciting than watching paint dry.) I ruminated. It hurt my head. So I stopped. Maybe I'll try again tomorrow.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.