sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Demons To Spare
Monday, May. 03, 2004

The Demon Who Gives You Shit

Surreal sushi evening last night that ended with the Aisho-san sitting on my couch, talking and smoking cigarettes. I read him parts of my online diary, had the chance to tell him about my admiration of him, about my fondness for Fuji. And I told him at the end of the night that I would not put any of what he told me on the internet, and so beyond this little bit of bare bones information, I won't.

The Demon Who Tolerates Intolerable Behavior

The Demon Who Tolerates Intolerable Behavior (otherwise known as The Demon Grrlfriend) was in the studio today so that I could cast her face. I remember when The Demon Who Always Does The Right Thing first met her, she said, "She's so pretty, Sublingua." And as I had the chance to look at her face today, I realized that she is quite pretty. You might ask how I could not know this after having spent any time with her at all, but I have to say, she is quite taken with the butch role, and so plays down her inherent prettiness. As I am perfectly willing and able to appreciate butch women, I am similarly accommodatingly willing to let the prettiness pass. I miss seeing it when they want me to miss seeing it is what I'm trying to say here.

But having cast her, now I can really look at her. It's not often that you get to touch people you know--even people you know for years--but casting has allowed me to do this. I can really notice how, for instance, NicI's nose turns up at the end. Or how her chin curves softly into her lower lip. I can see the beautific look that is common to The Demon Who Always Does The Right Thing's face when she is relaxed. I can hold Ama's face in my hands and notice that she has the most beautiful lips I have ever seen on anyone. NicII has a lovely smooth expanse of cheek. Mel has an amused look and not an angle to her face. I can touch and hold and cast and recast my friends, my family, my lovers, strangers. I can arrange their faces and think about how I feel about them. I can approach them with a loving sense that is sometimes difficult to sustain in face to face interactions, when too often I am trying to further some aspect of my own personality. Given time, I can suspend the cynicism, the eagerness to play the fool and have others laugh at me, I can let go of some of the ego and see them. And it's changed me. And I feel that I've been fortunate in this way to've stumbled on such a powerful tool.

The Demon Who Always Has To Have The Last Word

That would be me.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.