sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Demons With Mindless Elegance
Monday, Mar. 22, 2004

Some days it takes something like this to get me to the gym:

One day, when I just wasn't feeling it, I made myself go to the gym. When I got there, I had an extra quarter in my pocket. I had brought five to buy a bottle of water: four for the water and an extra to replace the one that the machine invariably takes as a sacrifice. But that day, the machine inexplicably accepted the four proffered quarters and returned a bottle of water in exchange. So I had an extra quarter. But my new sweats have no pocket in which to place the extra quarter, so I placed the quarter in a secret--but easily visible--gym location, known only to me and the quarter. I figured that someone would find it and take it and then feel lucky for having found a quarter (and that would, Annie Dillard-like, make me quite happy). That was weeks ago. It's still there. I visit that quarter (which I now call Happy Quarter) five times a week. Sometimes all that gets me to the gym is the promise of a Happy Quarter viewing.

Some days it takes something like this to get me to the gym, Part II:

I read a book about how Navy Seals weight train. Now I'm training like a Navy Seal. (And, yes, I realize that there's a certain kind of irony implied by the fact that I am a total slacker in the rest of my life but a perfect type A when it comes to working out. I don't try to explain it. I just accept it and live it.)

Some days it takes something like this to get me to the gym, Part III:

The thought that the scale might have gone up overnight. Or evidence that the scale went up overnight. Or a big meal the day before. Or the thought that my quads would just melt away to nothing if I didn't go.

I used to hate Nike ads as much as the next guy:

But there is a certain mindless elegance to the "Just Do It" attitude.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.