sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

The Demon Who Kills Two Birds With One Stone
Saturday, Feb. 28, 2004

Max and I had dinner last night with The Demon Who Always Does The Right Thing and The Demon Grrlfriend. The Demon Grrlfriend asked what demon she was in this diary and I told her that I just called her The Demon Grrlfriend. I asked if she wanted to be a different demon. I told her that I was The Demon Who Always Has To Have The Last Word. The Demon Who Always Does The Right Thing said, "Yeah you are." The Demon Grrlfriend couldn't think of what demon she'd be. I told her some other demons' names: The Demon of Buffets, which is The Enforcer's self-imposed demon name; The Demon Who Leaves No Trace, which is Max's self-chosen demon name; Mel's The Demon You Would Have Stayed With And Married And Treated Right; Megan's The Demon Of Ending Friendship Sex. Still The Demon Grrlfriend couldn't pick a name.

Today, as Max and I were on our way to Starbucks for a pre-workout latte, my phone rang. I did not recognize the number. Normally I don't answer calls from numbers I don't recognize, but something made me pick up.

"Hello?" I said.

"This is The Demon Who Tolerates Intolerable Behavior," said a voice I didn't recognize.

"Who is this?" I asked.

"The Demon Grrlfriend," she said, though using her real name.

"Oh!"

We discussed her demon moniker, my asking if her if I hadn't picked up, would she have just left it on my answering machine. She said it didn't matter whether she spoke to a machine or a "hydrogen-based being." I misheard her, thinking she said a "blood-based being." Blood-based being.

I became, in that moment and for that moment only, The Blood-Based Demon.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.