sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Thrifty Demon
Friday, Feb. 20, 2004

So today I have done two things: I went to Goodwill and bought an outfit for $7. And I went to see Lost In Translation, which I loved. I don't even really like either of the actors in the movie, but I did like the movie and might even see it again, rental-wise, as it was a charming, if not a big screen-necessary movie.

And the outfit? I tried on several skirts. Sizes kill me. So I picked out a couple of size 10's and one fit but was too long, one didn't make it over my thighs even. The one I bought was a 10/11 and I can sit in it. (I hope. I was too afraid to sit on that bench in the Goodwill fitting rooms as it looked as though someone had been changing their baby or eating some kind of large, ethnic-type lunch--or maybe both simultaneously--just before I came in.) Anyway, so for $7, I have an outfit. I also looked at men's blazers. (I used to wear one as a coat in high school. I wore it every day until the lining ripped out and then I sewed up the lining and continued to wear it for a long time after. I wonder whatever happened to that thing.) Anyway, I found one I liked (a brown and white western style blazer) despite it's having a giant red, white, and blue "MADE IN USA" tag proudly sewn into the lining. But I didn't buy it. I couldn't quite bring myself to pay $9.50 for it. But maybe I'll go back tomorrow. Because it was pretty sweet and I should by all rights have it. Right?

And now it's almost time to go and get my hair cut. Ron, who owns his own salon near my place is going to give me a fabulous cut. I'll write about Ron later perhaps. But for now I'll tell you quickly about my experience in the chair with him. He sat me down, and the first thing he asked was not the expected variation of, "How do you want it cut?" Rather, his first question was, "What are you, gay or straight?"

I love Ron. Thank you, universe, for Ron. (And for used clothes and for Bill Murray movies set in Tokyo.)

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.