sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

The Artful Demon
Sunday, Feb. 15, 2004

As promised, here are the pictures of my shelf (almost typed "my self"--Paging Dr. Freud) at the studio:

Most people tack their names up to their shelves, but I tacked up a picture of a skull that was found on some archeological dig somewhere. Why? Well, I used to do a lot of Dia De Los Muertos (Day of the Dead) work, and the skulls have always appealed to me. At the back of the shelf is a prototype for what would have been my next work: clay books. Because if you're trying to improve on books, I think that heavy and breakable are the way to go. In fact, I did finish a clay book (book about what it means to cease to matter) for a show called "Colores," but (in a lesson spelled out by the book apparently) someone dropped the piece as it was being hung and it, as ceramic pieces are wont to do when dropped, smashed to bits.

Here is a photo of the altar I assembled on my shelf--a tree that incorporates my older brother's face and three kiln gods that I made and an unabridged copy of the works of William Shakespeare among other things (feathers, a piece reminding people to breathe, a champagne cork, and so on).

And here are a couple of relatively bad close ups of some earlier pieces. This is a piece made from a cast of Matthew's face:

The "Ohm" symbol is painted in the middle of his forehead.

And this is a piece that incorporates the face of Ama's sister NicII and a haiku by Shiki. ("Beyond the trees, lighting flashes on water, bright like a vision.")

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.