sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

The Demon Overload
Thursday, Feb. 12, 2004

I was so speaking out of turn when I stated that the horniness had abated. (Yes poetry. Live with it.) I don't know if it's just analytical chemistry or what. But I could hardly concentrate on the derivations of activity coefficient equations this morning what with thinking about getting it on with the professor, who is just younger than dirt. And I mean, just. I mean, like, just hours younger than dirt. (And in fact, I could be wrong about that. God might have actually conferred with my professor about the quantitative composition of dirt.) I don't know what it is about a smart man that turns me into a totally raving slut. (And actually, come to think of it, dumb men sometimes have the same effect. The only difference is that smart men can be hideous and still be divinely sexy, whereas dumb guys need to make up for being dumb by being extraordinarily good looking.)

Also, I ran into my old creative writing teacher, R/K, outside the science and engineering library and offered to let her share my coat (it was snowing, and my coat has gotten kind of big lately). Of course, this was just after analytical chemistry and I was feeling mighty open to suggestions (both making and receiving).

And right now I'm on my way into the quant lab--the dreaded four hour lab--so of course I'm trying to slam some coffee. I don't want to do anymore titrations. I don't. I don't. I hate titrations. (And actually, that's a lie, it's just that doing seven of them in four hours is next to a physical impossibility and that makes me a bit crazy. I really like doing titrations because they take a lot of concentration and I realized during the last lab as I was intently concentrating taking readings from my buret, that I hadn't thought of The R.E. Demon in almost two hours (which was a record last week I think as I had just almost run into him right before lab). And I knew then that it was going to be okay. I know/knew that there will be distraction if I pray for distraction.)

And tonight? Tonight there's a party for Dennis who's leaving the studio. And I may get to go to that for all of half an hour before I have to return to campus for the dreaded organic lecture. It's been a too busy week, kids. Sublingua's old and tired.

Really.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.