sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

The Demon Who Gets No Beauty Sleep
Friday, Jan. 30, 2004

Thursdays are hellish days school-wise. I leave my apartment at 7:30 in the morning to be a bit early to my eight a.m. lecture (biology of infectious organisms), which is immediately followed by a quantitative analysis lecture.

My divine quant professor setting up his laptop.

Then I have a short break for lunch, then there�s the dreaded four hour quant lab to get through. After that I have a longer break for dinner or a workout, then there�s the organic chemistry lecture until eight fifteen.

The swifter of the two TA's for the ochem lecture.

And this is what the campus looks like on the way to my last lecture:

So I have a twelve hour and fifteen minute school day�minus the three or so hours of breaks in there. And I probably should do some homework in that time, but you know how that always works out. I am constitutionally unable to do homework if there is someone who is willing to have coffee with me in that same time period.

Today, for example, I called Mel, Mayflower, x, and Magdalene and ended up going to coffee with x and Magdalene.

x and Magdalene have never met each other before, and I didn�t tell either one anything about the other before introducing them to one another. It was interesting to watch them interact. I�m used to having to push at x, to getting loud, to arguing, to interrupting him, and so on. But today he put his company manners on for Magdalene and let her speak from time to time. And Maggie? Well, she had her boy-girl manners on, looked attentive, wasn�t hardly cynical, etc. It was kind of funny. Almost like putting two insects in a jar and shaking the jar only to see them start in on a whole After you, my dear Alphonse act. And Magdalene only brought up prostitution once.

The next day:

I am so not feeling it today. I have 25 minutes until the dreaded biochem lecture and I don�t want to do it. I was supposed to�ve gotten up at 6:00 this morning to be ready when Max picked me up at 7:30. I had to run him to work across town and I wanted to be to be back to campus by 8:00 when Student Services opened so that I could turn in my yellow cards and pick up a couple of copies of my transcript for Monday�s interview and pay for a locker rental over at the gym. Then I was going to go to lecture and then over to the other college I attended to get copies of my transcripts from them. Then I was going to head over to The Other Location to pick up a gift certificate from my mother and then run over the mall, where I was going to buy something to wear to the interview on Monday. (Because I have nothing even remotely interview appropriate. I�ve been reduced to two pairs of jeans and a couple of black sweaters and a pair of the same black t-shirts and a black button-down shirt. And that�s my wardrobe. So it�s be nice to show up looking more internship-worthy than your average student, but that�s not going to happen without some shopping getting done.)

So I had to get up at 6:00. And at 7:05 when Max called to let me know that he was on his way, I got up, brushed my teeth, put on the cleaner of the two pairs of jeans and a sweater and my boots and then I lay back down on the futon to wait for him to get here. I feel like crap, but not, like, bad. I mean, I still have this cold but it�s kind of settled in so that I�m not constantly aware of how bad I feel from it. But I�m just worn out and want to have to do nothing more strenuous than lift my head to drink another sip of diet Sprite and turn the page of the novel I�m reading. (The Age of Innocence, the Edith Wharton, if you must know. Which I�ve been reading for who knows how long. I�m able to read maybe four pages a night before I�m out.) I�m tired, kids.

Sublingua�s getting old. She needs her beauty sleep. And today? It is incredibly self-evident that none has been had.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.