sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

The Demon Who Would Never Tell Your Secrets.
Tuesday, Jan. 27, 2004

I did ask The Demon Who Always Does The Right Thing if I could post her picture. She said yes, as long as I didn't write about how she didn't go to work yesterday to make up all the hours that she was supposed to (and for which she has already been paid), a situation that would seem to negate her Demon status. So, that's my end of the deal, right? Not telling? And so here's The Demon Who Always Does The Right Thing:

Also? She and The Grrlfriend and Max came over for dinner last night (we got take-out from a fabulous new Middle Eastern place called Yasmine's Cafe down on Central). Which was pretty damn funny. The Grrlfriend is relatively quiet, but very appreciative of humor (whatever that means), and I like having her around. They've never been over before and the whole thing was very impromptu. The odd thing is that, as I was leaving the house yesterday morning at 7:00 a.m., I looked around my apartment and thought, I should pick up those clothes and put the futon up into a couch because I'm going to have company later. And then, because I'm sane (and therefore try my best to ignore these little precognizant premonitions) and it was 7:00 in the morning and I was on my way out the door, I thought, yeah, right. In six months, I've had company twice (and Max doesn't count as he's the ex-husband)so what are the chances that I'll have company on a Monday night? And so I left the place a mess and the futon folded out into a bed. And then, come six p.m. that evening, there they were, the company I had expected to not have been expecting.

So we had dinner and The Demon and The Grrlfriend showed us some of Master Chen's patented tai-chi movidas and then everyone left and I went to bed.

Because I'm still sick.

Cough-cough.

Updated to add: I asked Max if I could post a picture of him and he agreed. Max, therefore, is one of the people in this picture, taken from the foyer of the science and engineering library on campus. (Here's a hint: He's not the blond woman closest to the door.)

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.