sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

The Demonic Sushi Max Crush Continued...
Tuesday, Jan. 06, 2004

The Aisho-san Crush Analysis, or, You Pray for Distraction And Distraction Comes:

I'll admit that it's delicious (and, possibly even more important, time consuming) to contemplate the Aisho-san. I don't even care if he's got a wife and litter of children at home. If he admitted to this as he handed a plate of beautiful aji over the sushi bar, I'd simply ask him to pull out his wallet and show me pictures of what would undoubtedly be a gorgeous Japanese wife and two or three beautiful, Buddha-like, three-quarters Japanese babies--so that I might add that much more respect to my yearning for him. But it wouldn't matter if he did have a family because all I need is for my heart to look at him and see possibility. Right now, that's enough for me to go on and to get past what I need to get past.

Max said of Aisho-san as we were leaving the restaurant, "I think he likes you." And my reply? "Well, everybody likes me." I know how to get people to like me (three parts generosity, one part humor, one part good listener, dash of flattery), but what I don't know is how to get people to love or, more importantly perhaps, to seduce (or be seduced by) me. (And while we're on the subject of seduction, Sophistica gave me a copy of Colette's The Pure and The Impure for Christmas, which contains the beautiful and true sentiment: When one is young is not the time for seducing; it is the time for being seduced. But I seem to be at an age when I am unsure which side of that equation I fall on, and though I see a fork in the road and know, Yogi Berra-like, that I should take it, I don't know exactly where I should take it. Where should I take it? And shouldn't I, in this particular instance, be using, in my already mixed up metaphor, chopsticks and not Western utensils? And even then, wouldn't it already be something of a hypothetical situation because I so often end up, at the sushi bar (and everywhere else for that matter), eating with my hands?)

So, I know that it's enough that the guy is a sushi chef who shares my love of uni. Does he need to be real as well?

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.