sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

The Demon Who Neglects Her Honor, Her Affairs, Her Friends, Her State
Saturday, Dec. 06, 2003

�Her honour, her affairs, her friends, her state,
Neglected all, with swift intent she goes
To quench the coal which in her liver glows.
O rash false heat��
--Shakespeare, The Rape of Lucrece

Magdalene and I were alone for about half an hour before Matthew came back to the bar. He took my old place and was a bit disappointed that Lynch had gone. He ordered a Guinness and he and I did a couple of shots of Goldschlager. Magdalene was at the point where she was too drunk to order and started telling the waiter things like she wanted a �drink with coffee in it�whatever the bartender feels like making.� I ordered another rum and diet coke. We finished those. The waiter told us we were nearing $100 on our tab. We ordered another round. Magdalene ordered another coffee drink. Matthew had another beer and we did another shot, this time of peach schnapps. Things were very blurry for me at this point, but somehow it came out that the stripper Matthew lived with and the woman who got Magdalene into prostitution were one and the same. The infamous, coincidental Rebecca. (Remember her? Keep her in mind, because she�s coming back.) Matthew held his head in his hand for a moment then out came a Sweet�n�Low packet. (He does this kind of compulsive thing when he gets nervous where he folds up a Sweet�n�Low packet and uses a sharp corner to rub obsessively at his fingers.) I laughed and laughed. Magdalene said something and I laughed. She ran her hand along my thigh. The waiter came over, and of course he had to hear the story.

Max came in then. He came sort of out of nowhere, and I was so drunk that the following had to be taken from his recollection of the conversation, as all I remember was that he was there, I hugged him, and then he was gone. He said that he noticed that Magdalene and I were very drunk, that Matthew was not drunk. I told him I was going to set him up with Truitt, our waiter, and that he said no, and that I just laughed. He mentioned our phone bill to me, saying that roaming charges from Wisconsin were expensive. Too drunk to remember that, during his last business trip to Wisconsin he had called me several times, I asked why he had been calling Wisconsin. He didn�t stay long, he said, but he did say to Matthew, �Will you make sure she gets into the gate, Matthew, please,� (referring to the locked gate of my apartment compound). He says Matthew agreed.

Our waiter was off the clock then and came over to sit with us and have a drink. I was so drunk, I don�t remember a single thing he said. I do remember noticing that his drink was full and then suddenly it was empty and he was leaving. That�s it.

I made the suggestion that we go back to my place, saying that I had gin, tequila, and wine, but if they wanted anything else, we�d have to stop at Walgreens. Matthew and Magdalene agreed. I think Magdalene told Matthew he�d have to drive. We left the bar and walked to where Matthew was parked. It was cold. I think I may have smoked a cigarette while we walked. I remember as we neared the van, Matthew told us that one of us would have to sit on the floor as the seats were out of the van because he had helped his sister and her husband move the day before. Magdalene and I both climbed into the back. He started the van, and immediately, Magdalene and I started making out. (Classy, right? Making out on the floor of some minivan?) I was on my back, and she was above me. I was completely into it though her kisses--like mine, I�m sure--were heavy, drunken, not awkward, but not finessed either. It was a quick tangle of tongues and roaming hands that I enjoyed very much. I remember whispering to her that she was beautiful. �You�re so beautiful, Magdalene.�

I was sitting up when we pulled into the Walgreen�s parking lot because I remember looking out the windshield as Matthew parked. There must have been some question or discussion about what we wanted, but if there was, I don�t remember it. He left the van. I was immediately on my back again kissing Magdalene. She asked me to take off my shirt, and I pulled it up instead, and pulled my bra down. She sucked on my nipples, and, wanting to hurry and have her nipples in my mouth, I asked her to take off her shirt. She said, �I�m not done with yours yet.� When she was, she sat up, pulled up her shirt and bra. Her breasts were incredibly beautiful. I really hope I told her so. I sat halfway up, pulling her nipples in turn into my mouth. I think I may have bit at them, but I don�t remember. Matthew came up then with a bag containing a six-pack of Guinness in bottles and three bottles of tonic water. Magdalene and I scrambled to compose ourselves, pulling clothes into place and so on. I have no idea what he saw, if anything, though it must have been something since we didn�t stop until we heard him opening the door and getting into the van. As we left the parking lot, I sat behind the driver�s seat, my legs spread, Magdalene kneeling between them, her hand on my knee. She asked me if we should offer to give Matthew a blowjob in exchange for editing a paper she had due the next day. I don�t know what I replied, perhaps something about it being up to her whether or not she did.

We got to my place and I couldn�t figure out how to open the door to the minivan, Matthew had to open it and let us out. I held on to his arm as I climbed out. I led them up the path, unlocked the gate, and they came in. We went into my apartment. I wanted to make some comment to Matthew about returning to the scene of the crime or about being sorry if the futon folded out into a bed made him uncomfortable, but for once, my mouth didn�t immediately transmit what went through my brain, and I said nothing. I went to the bathroom. When I came out, they were in the living room. Magdalene told me later that she felt awkward standing there with him. She had asked Matthew how drunk he was on a scale of one to ten, and he had replied, �Oh, two or three.� When he asked her, she said, �Uhhh. Uhhh. Five? But I�m not too good with numbers.� (Meaning, of course, that she was more like an eleven on a drunken scale of one to ten.)

I directed them into the kitchen and pointed out the demons, showing Matthew his alien one�The Catalytic Demon of (Un)certainty (1st dream demon)�but not his lost dog one�The Demon That Can�t Look You in the Eye. I remember his making some comment about it�s being a nice apartment. I asked if he wanted a beer. He did, but had left the bag in the living room. I went and retrieved not the bag, but a single beer. When I came back into the kitchen, I thought they were kissing, but Magdalene tells me later that they weren�t. I handed the bottle of beer to Matthew and opened it with my bottle opener. I don�t remember when I brought out the gin and tequila, but there they were. I pulled out my LDS shot glass and we laughed about it and split a shot of gin, me drinking first. Then I suggested that we go into the living room.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.