sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Demon Mine: A Story in Five Parts
Saturday, Dec. 06, 2003

GARCIN:

"So this is hell. I'd never have believed it. You remember all we were told about the torture-chambers, the fire and brimstone, the "burning marl." Old wives' tales!There's no need for red-hot pokers. Hell is--other people."

ESTELLE:

My darling! Please-

GARCIN:

No, let me be. She is between us. I cannot love you when she's watching.

ESTELLE:

In that case, I'll stop her watching.

(She picks up the knife and stabs Inez several times.)

INEZ:

But, you crazy creature, what do you think you're doing? You know quite well I'm dead.

ESTELLE:

Dead?

INEZ:

Dead! Dead! Dead! Knives, poison, ropes--useless. It has happened already, do you understand? Once and for all. So here we are, forever.

ESTELLE:

Forever. My God, how funny! Forever.

GARCIN:

For ever, and ever, and ever.

(A long silence.)

GARCIN:

Well, well, let's get on with it...

--Jean-Paul Sartre, No Exit

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.