sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Mormons & the Miltones
Saturday, May. 24, 2003

Well, Gry exchanged a bit of one of his stories for my story--and sadly, his story turned out to be a FUCKING incredible piece of writing. I swear to god, he has the most natural talent I have ever seen a beginning writer exhibit (and he refuses to believe it, which is about par for the course with Gry).

We went to lunch then and were talking about the devotional that he sent (see previous post about dad's email to Gry)--which he hasn't read yet, so it wasn't much of a discussion. However, during the conversation, I brought up how I had this belief, this prejudice in my head about Mormonism being a cult. Gry was somewhat taken aback, and I thought immediately that I shouldn't have said anything, but we both kind of pushed through it. I wouldn't say that it was necessarily very productive, but it was interesting. I think he knows, from having done missionary work, that people have a lot of peculiar ideas about Mormons.

Tangentially, at one point, I found myself telling him that I was no longer Catholic but that one never truly gets away from being Catholic, and that if someone put a gun up to my head and said, "Choose a religion," I would not choose Catholicism. I might choose Buddhism, if one could call it a religion.

***************************************

Drinks with the Milton crowd:

Telling MV about his "smart vibe" and his totally denying it.

C. telling his Palm Springs Vato stories (especially the one about the vatos getting dad drunk on 151 and about lighting things on fire in the desert).

MB and C telling about how they met online (his seeing her picture on her diary as he walked by a coworker's computer...)

MV freaking out that I correctly guessed his middle name (Robert).

Worst job ever: MB--sonic, MV--walm@rt at christmas (sporting goods)

MV calling Sam the Barrista "a walking gland."

MB urging C to tell us more stories (how proud she was of him, how they are both up front kind of people)

discussion about the death of the author theo., and my trying to defend it somehow and failing

MV and MB revealing themselves to be church-going baptists. MB talking about how she'd go for awhile and then she'd start to feel kind of ultra-pious (she used a better term that I can't think of right now, something like " super righteous") and then she'd stop for a while. MV expressing the same kind of thing.

C talking about the whole Catholic calisthenics being in opposition to his bad knee, and my comment about how there was nothing like being on your knees before God for hours and hours to make you a humble, humble person (drawing a nod from MV).

More later.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.