sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Tattoos and Tales
Thursday, May. 22, 2003

Max did these marvelous henna tattoos in Sanskrit on my palms and left forearm last night: on my right palm, the "Ohm" symbol, on my left palm, the "Hom" (sp?) symbol, on my forearm, a passage from the Bhagavad-Gita:

"Whatever action a great man performs, common men follow."

Which is only half of a passage that continues:

"And whatever standards he sets by exemplary acts, all the world pursues."

Originally, I wanted a passage about time (kairos, not chronos), but after some discussion about how time is seen in Hindi culture (is this the correct way to phrase this?) as the great destroyer, I wasn't sure I still wanted to make my point about time--in Sanskrit anyway.

_______________________________________

So, a few days ago, I showed Gry the church group I belong to (the writing church group, I mean), to which I had posted a story I'd written for R/K's class. It's a story called "Lot's Wife's Daughters," about, well, Lot's wife's daughters. I originally intended for it to be in the style of Luisa Valenzuela, who often recasts the traditional myths and stories from her culture into tales that talk about current events. It's a strange and beautiful way to begin trying to interpret what is happening in the world today through one's own cultural lens. But being an American--albeit a "brown" one--and therefore having no culture, I took a story from the Bible, the one about Lot's wife who looked back at Sodom and Gomorrah as it was being destroyed and was turned to a pillar of salt. A beautiful story, really. Beautiful and inexplicable, her fate. So I wrote a story about it, told from the POV of one of the daughters who survived the event. And now it's in Gry's hand. We shall see.

Drinks tonite with the Milton crowd. More later.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.