sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

Truth story
Tuesday, May. 20, 2003

"What is truth? Truth is something so noble that if God could turn aside from it, I could keep to the truth and let God go." --Meister Eckhart

Lunch today with Max and Gry.

There were a few interesting moments:

Gry showing me this email his father had written to him about a devotional that had been delivered at BYU by this man whom his father described (both to Gry and the man himself) as "smart and devoted" and also (to Gry alone) as "eccentric." I wonder why this email was shown to me. (That's some kind of passively constructed sentence, isn't it?) I wonder why it was that Gry showed me this email, except that, perhaps, he sees me as smart and devoted and eccentric, or that he wanted to show me that he wants his father to see him as smart and devoted and eccentric(?). Gry also prefaced his showing me this email by telling me that his father never, never, never praises people this way, so it was unusual that he (pop) had done this. This sparked a discussion about whether or not Gry is also this kind of man. He says he is. So that adds another dimension to the matter.

We also spoke about prejudices, especially racial, which was an offshoot from a conversation about marriage deal-breakers which Gry listed as "money and religion," claiming that he had read this information somewhere. I brought up how difficult it had been as a brown kid coming into Max's family, and vice versa (he coming in as a white kid into my brown family). I I wanted to steer the conversation around to the age difference between Gry and Ali, but it never got around to there.

We also discussed religion, his being that salty Christianity that is so prevalent in the north, mine being the offshoot of the Conquistadors who came here with hearts equally divided between god and glory.

We discussed how he had thought about what it must be like to be Max, in re: me and how I interact with people; that is, in a very aggressively curious manner (which is, to him, very dangerous). This was brought about by my bringing up the whole me=serial killer in his dream, and his telling me that it was more like I was split between the serial killer and the detective, which is something that bears thinking about... But I brought up how I had recognized myself as the "alien other" in the car dream in which he switched places with Max, showing how he had given some thought to switching places with Max in real life, which is also something that bears thinking about...

Gry and I are trying to cover the ground between us in a way that is meaningful, and to build a friendship across what are potentially limiting boundaries.

This deserves more time and space. There will be more time and space.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.