sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

for fear of a personal attack
Tuesday, May. 06, 2003

Interesting Milton class this morning. We were discussing Paradise Regained--a poem which just kills me. The character(ization) of Jesus by Milton is absolutely devastating.

Anyway, the majority of the class seemed really down on Paradise Regained (versus Paradise Lost), but I happened to love the poem and said so vehemently. Someone thought I was a little too vehement and suggested that he wouldn't say anything else "for fear of a personal attack." Which made me, and everyone else in the class (with the exception of the guy who said it) laugh.

I get a little crazy when I defend Milton. Sorry, dude.

Anyway, the rest of the day has been a waste. I'm supposed to be studying for finals, but I'm just not there yet. Knowledge sticks to anxiety, you know. You can't force it. You can't fake it. (At least that's what I tell myself, and it seems to work well enough.)

I'm sitting here listening to Quartetto Gelatto.

I spent the morning thinking about Robert and about Tamara and about--was her name--Jessica(?) I really miss him these days for some reason. There's that whole sense of loss going on, characterizing this week. Like Holden, I'm getting ready to move on, I think.

There has also been the usual amount of movie watching: Y Tu Mama Tambien, which I liked. It wasn't a great movie, but it was a good movie, and Diego Luna is the Mexican King of Boys. There was also a Kurosawa film called High and Low, which was really intense for the first third and the last, like, eighth. But in between, it was very...clinical? I don't know. I also re-saw (that a word even?) Down by Law. I am enamored of Jim Jarmusch, and Tom Waits on screen is a gem. There's an interesting bunch of DVD "extras" (which, on many DVD's usually = crap), interviews with the players and with Jarmusch, etc., that I really enjoyed.

This is yet another boring entry. Argh!

Oh, I am working on another dream interpretation for G. I'm not learning nearly as much about him or myself from this one, but it is interesting trying to refine my dream interp. via email process. (lesserlight.diaryland.com)

That is all.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.