sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

A month of friday fives, condensed for your reading pleasure
Sunday, Oct. 20, 2002

Friday Five (.org)

Answer the following five questions in your own weblog. Make sure you leave a comment here with a link to your post or just leave your answers in this post's comments section.

1. If you could only choose 1 cd to ever listen to again, what would it be?

It would have to be the Talking Heads CD that has "This Must Be The Place (A Naive Melody)" on it. That is my favorite song in the world, and I would never tire of listening to it. Alternatively, I would have to chose a recording of Handel's water music or any recording of anything by Glenn Gould in which he hums while playing.

2. If you could only choose 2 movies to watch ever again, what would they be?

Harold and Maude and, oh, I don't know, maybe A Geisha.

3. If you could only choose 3 books to read ever again, what would they be?

A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, my unabridged Shakespeare, and, hmmmm, maybe a book of poetry by ee cummings or Emily Dickinson. I'd chose things not that I necessarily love right now but that I could keep going back to and finding new things.

4. If you could only choose 4 things to eat or drink ever again, what would they be?

I loooove food, so this is a toughie. I would have to say: regular Coca-Cola, any kind of sushi, chocolate, and menudo.

5. If you could only choose 5 people to ever be/talk/associate/whatever with ever again, who would they be?

Max, my mother, my two brothers, my niece.

Friday Five (.org)

Answer the following five questions in your own weblog. Make sure you leave a comment here with a link to your post or just leave your answers in this post's comments section.

1. What size shoe do you wear?

I am a sasquatch. I wear size 12 women's and size 10 1/2 men's.

2. How many pairs of shoes do you own?

Let's see. I own more pairs than I wear. I have a pair of wasted hiking boots that I don't wear, a pair of white tennis shoes that I don't wear, a pair of brown hiking shoes that I wear constantly, two pairs of loafers (one black, one light tan) that I don't wear. Um, a pair of black cowboy boots that I've never worn, another pair of black leather zip-up ankle boots that I don't wear, a pair of black lace-up boots that I wear very, very occasionally, a pair of strappy black wedged heels that I have never worn, a pair of slides that I use mostly as house slippers because I can't find my flip-flops anymore. And I think that may--oh, no, I also have a pair of those rope sandals that I've worn, I think, twice, and a pair of old wasted Tevas that I haven't worn in over a year because I got one of those dreaded Teva tans that would not go away for the longest time and I got scared that I might end up with permanent Teva tan action on my feet which is like being scarred for life, but worse.

3. What type of shoe do you prefer (boots, sneakers, pumps, etc.)?

I prefer sneakers and then sandals that you can slide into and then boots, in that order.

4. Describe your favorite pair of shoes. Why are they your favorite?

I don't really have a favorite pair of shoes. I used to have a pair of those ugly but comfortable sandals (no, not Birkenstocks) which finally got waaaay too stinky to wear, so I had to toss them out. They were really expensive, made in Israel kind of sandals, but they lasted three years of everyday wear and so I thought they were the bomb.

5. What's the most you've spent on one pair of shoes?

I think it tops out around a hundred smackers. And that gave me fits. I look at those shoes in fashion mags, Jimmy Choos, Manolo Blahniks, etc., and think: a) they don't make them in my size anyway, b) who can in good conscience spend that much on shoes when people are starving in this world, and c) aren't those the most beautiful things you've ever seen in your life and wouldn't you kill to have a pair?

Friday Five (.org)

Answer the following five questions in your own weblog. Make sure you leave a comment here with a link to your post or just leave your answers in this post's comments section.

1. What are your favorite ways to relax and unwind?

I love to play in mud (clay) or go and sit in the sauna and hot tub at the nearby day spa.

2. What do you do the moment you get home from work/school/errands?

I usually put down my backpack and then head straight for bed where I crawl in and read.

3. What are your favorite aromatherapeutic smells?

I don't really have a favorite. I love the smell of damp, clean earth though, and would love to find a perfume that made me smell of that. I also love the smell of wet trees, which is something that is very exotic to me--having lived in the desert all my life.

4. Do you feel more relaxed with a group of friends or hanging out by yourself?

I'm more of a by myself kind of girl.

5. What is something that you feel is relaxing but most people don't?

I like to create things with clay which makes some people batty, but it's more like art therapy for me.

Friday Five (.org)

Answer the following five questions in your own weblog. Make sure you leave a comment here with a link to your post or just leave your answers in this post's comments section.

1. Would you say that you're good at keeping in touch with people?

Um, not on the phone, but in writing I do--though I'm only okay at it anymore. I used to be better.

2. Which communication method do you usually prefer/use: e-mail, telephone, snail mail, blog comments, or meeting in person? Why?

I'm an email person anymore and then snail mail because isn't it always nice to get mail?

3. Do you have an instant messenger program? How many? Why/why not? How often do you use it?

No. I don't have the least idea of how to use such a thing.

4. Do most of your close friends live nearby or far away?

Most live nearby.

5. Are you an "out of sight, out of mind" person, or do you believe that "distance makes the heart grow fonder"?

I'm split about half and half on that.

Friday Five (.org)

Answer the following five questions in your own weblog. Make sure you leave a comment here with a link to your post or just leave your answers in this post's comments section.

1. What was/is your favorite subject in school? Why?

I used to think I was one of those English girls, you know, the ones who got turned off to science over time because it's in the realm of boys. Now I am the biology geek, with a strong English background.

2. Who was your favorite teacher? Why?

Oh, I had this great bio. teacher--not the one who turned me onto bio (she was great too) but this guy who was demanding and difficult and made me really understand what it was to study and not just get by on those all-nighter kind of study sessions. I still do all nighters, but only for those subjects that I hate, the ones I love, I put the effort into.

3. What is your favorite memory of school?

I think my favorite memory will be finally leaving school and getting out into the real world--which is five or so years in the future.

4. What was your favorite recess game?

When I was in elementary school, we used to have this super dangerous spinning saucer thing--you know, the kind that you would never, ever find on a playground these days, but I used to love it. Kids would routinely lose their teeth when they spun off it and hit the ground face first, but then, kids are supposed to lose their teeth anyway, right?

5. What did you hate most about school?

All the other kids and bullies and those teachers who hated kids.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.