sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

How it is.
Monday, May. 20, 2002

Hiya.

Today is Monday. Today is a work day. Yesterday was Sunday. Sunday was a work day. The day before that was Saturday. Saturday was a work day. The day before that was Friday. Friday was a work day. Do you see a trend? Tomorrow is Tuesday. Tuesday is a workday. Wednesday is a work day. Thursday is a work day. Friday is a work day. Saturday is a work day. Sunday maybe won't be a work day, but I'm not going to hold my breath. (Especially if I have to hold it until Sunday.)

Both Zaphod and I got haircuts since the last time we saw each other. Both of us refuse to mention the other's haircut, though I could tell that he wanted to--or at least wanted me to hold still while he examined my head rather closely I think.

Today for lunch, he had something that smelled like burning electrical wiring. It was over rice. He tried to heat it up but it stayed cold. He tried again, and got it too hot. What amused me about this situation was the way I know that his lunch was too cold then too hot: He was sitting nearby (we were facing our respective computer monitors) and, speaking to himself, said so. Now, it isn't unusual for someone to speak to themselves. I know that. But, when the Chinese speak to themselves in English because I'm around, well, I find that highly amusing. I am not easily amused either. Really, I'm not.

I could use a coffee right about now. I tried to take a nap at my desk earlier, but, you know, it's hard to get comfortable at your desk when the French press is being used to lyse cells, and the freezer is being opened and closed just behing you, and there are two or three loud Chinese conversations going on in the room, and it's hard to get the chair just right so that you're not too hunched over, and the stack of books and lab manuals and my water bottle don't make a very effective pillow, and my gel is going and I have to check it now and again--well, it's not easy to catch 40 or 42 winks in the midst of all this.

You know how it is.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.