sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

a fool and her money
Tuesday, Mar. 26, 2002

1. What would you want to see as a permanent memorial to you? Assume that money is not a consideration. Is it a stone with an epitaph? A building? A garden? Is the idea of permanence important to you, or are you content with doing what you can while you're here and letting that stand as your memorial?

I would want an arts and science school for children k-12 started in my honor. I want children to receive the best education possible, a strong science background, and also be able to study music, painting, pottery, etc. The students, ideally, would not have to pay tuition, or would pay according to their family's income. The rest would have to come from an endowment or other financial arrangement. I would also have the students be responsible (with adult guidance) for determining their own paths of study and also for the discipline which is utilized in the school.

2. You are given a gift of 1 million dollars (kindly adjust for currency in your location). There are some restrictions on how you can spend some of the money, as follows:

$100,000 must be donated to charity. What charities will you support?

I don't have a specific charity in mind, though all of the money allotted would go to women's charities that support women's reproductive rights, etc. such as NARAL, Planned Parenthood, as well as other charities in which women are helping women to gain independence both financially and spiritually.

$100,000 must be given to one person that you know. To whom do you give it? What would you expect him/her to do with it? Would you put any restrictions on its use? Would it make a difference if you could make the donation anonymously?

I would give the money to my older brother. Though I love my mother, and at first began to write that I would give her the money, in the past, she has been less than generous with me and I guess I am the kind of person who holds a grudge. My older brother has had some financial difficulties recently, due to his health, and had to go back to work long before it was medically okay so that he could pay his bills. He's worked hard since he was 16, and I'd like to see him take some time off, pay off his debts, and have enough money to stay out of work until he is healed completely.

$50,000 must be spent on a public beautification project. You can build a park, commission artwork, etc. What do you do, and where do you do it?

I would spend the money commissioning murals that would be done by local graffitti artists in the neighborhoods whose members agreed to have them placed there. Not only would they add color and beauty to neighborhoods which badly need them, they would also, hopefully, reflect the local artists and their lives and views.

$50,000 must be spent studying something you have not formally studied. What will you study?

Lots of things popped into my head: photography, bookbinding, printmaking. I guess I would study arts and crafts in a more formal way, given the money for supplies and instruction.

$200,000 must be spent doing as many things as you can on your "lifetime to do list." Always wanted to see Alaska? Take a boat trip on the Rhine? What things would you do first?

First, I'd make sure that I could afford to fund the remainder of my education and M's education. Then, M. and I would take a trip around the world. I've always wanted to take one of the "See the Polar Bears [before they're extint]" trips to Churchill, Alaska. I've always wanted to see India and Nepal. I've kicked myself for missing New Zealand when we were in Australia. I'd go to the Galapagos Islands, and back to Lizard Island. I'd go to China and see the Yangtzi river before it's gone. I'd go to Antarctica. Then I'd probably be broke, huh?

The rest of the money is yours to do with as you see fit. What would you do with it?

I'd invest about half of what was left and I'd give away the rest to friends and family: my grandmother, my mother and stepfather, my younger brother and his wife, my niece, my aunt and uncle, my cousin (their son), my stepgrandparents, and I'd put some of it in a trust for my cousin whose father died a few years ago and whose mother has since turned to drugs (selling his toys and clothes to buy heroin) so that he'd have some money when he gets old enough to make his own decisions.

Wow. Where did that come from?

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.