sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

The first day
2001-08-20

Well, darlings, it's the first day of school, and my head is already swimming.

Okay, that's a lie. I'm very nearly overcome with ennui--if such a thing is possible. Is it me? Is it the Big Z?

I am taking intensive biochemistry, the second semester of organic chemistry, research ethics, a molecular methods lab, microbiology and the lab, and I have time for this? No, not really. But I have an hour for lunch, and I'm chewing as I type this, darling. Munch, munch.

So, my first professor is a well-known dud amongst his colleagues. So, I worry, you know. I worry that somehow that's going to bite me in the ass. Should I worry?

My next professor is a really charming old guy. Not really charming in a personality kind of way, but charming in that he's mostly harmless and pretty upfront about things. And he cracks jokes that fall flat, so of course I can't help but love him.

My next professor once substitute taught a lecture I took, and he is ex-marine sarge scary. You know the type. People who have had him before love him. But I'm not much on authority, so I don't know how I'm going to feel about the whole matter.

I generally know my other professors and instructors at least by sight and reputation if not in a personal sort of way, so I'm not that worried about what is going to happen to me.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.