sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

homemaking and conscious thought
Jan. 3, 2000

Am cleaning house today. No, really. Stop laughing. This is going to happen. Well, mostly happen anyway. We'll see. I hate doing housework. (Damn you, housework!) So, we'll see if it actually gets done. I even have a list of things that I have to do. It has a bunch of things on it that I must accomplish if my house is going to be called clean someday. It has things on it like "Sweep" and "Mop." It has things on it like "Clear kitchen table" and "Dishes." But what I really want to know is: Am I totally unusual in my dislike of housework? Well, even I know that the answer to that is: probably not. In fact, I know that a lot of other people hate housework. But I also know that the difference between me and many of these types of people is the fact that they find housework to be some kind of necessary evil, whereas I find housework to be a desirable but entirely unnecessary kind of evil. They actually go through with it, while I make lists and whine about it in my diary. On a less domestic note: Max and I went to the bookstore last night where I bought a book by Jamaica Kincaid, one of short stories by Andrea Dworkin (who was and is frighteningly ahead of the curve as far as women's consciousness raising is concerned), and another copy of "Dictionary of the Khakars" by Pavic (I just don't feel safe without a copy of this book in the house, however inaccessible the writing). I started the Kincaid and the Dworkin both, which is giving me a very curious outlook today I think. We'll see if it affects my housework.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.