sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

alien obstacles and utopia
Jan. 2, 2001

Woke up around ten, having dreamt of death by great white shark. Went back to sleep, freezing, slept for another two hours to be woken up by distress over another dream (car accident, my cousin's love dead). What does this mean? I interpret them as obstacles that I'm going to have to face. Alien obstacles. Unrecognizable obstacles? Unrecognized danger. I mean, shark? Come on.

I got a message from the brilliant Sophistica, who wants to come over this evening. I immediately sent one back suggesting tomorrow as my house resembles a post-tornado wracked Oklahoma trailer park. I'll need to run the dishwasher at least half a dozen times before I can say that this is over. (Plus, if we're going to bake, I'm going to have to relocate Shelly, as the heat from the oven can't be good for him.)

Was up most of the night (not due to dreams as one might suspect). Passed the time re-reading a novel by Earnest Callenbach called "Ecotopia." It's not a particularly good novel, but one that I think about from time to time. I read most of it, only cringing slightly at his utopian women and blacks ("Soul City"? Who wouldn't be embarrassed?). Plus, I know it's a lot harder to conjure up a(n) utopia than most people might suppose it to be. I mean, yes, we could have a perfect world if I ran it, etc., but to have a society that runs itself in a way that is pleasing and/or satisfactory to its inhabitants is a whole different animal. I am too embarrassed at my own naivete to go back and review the utopia that I hastily slapped together years ago. I recall having to be concerned over such things as national security, education, the economy. What a bummer, as the aging, failed commune inhabitant might say. (What's the deal with utopias today? God, where is my head?)

I'm still a bit groggy. Max returned to work today, and I'm also a bit lonely. I haven't left the house at all today, and I'm getting a bit stir crazy, I think. I could clean the kitchen. I could do any number of the things that I had intended to do on this, my break, but we all know that this isn't going to happen, don't we? I thought so.

Utopia, indeed.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.