sublingua

The heart with a mind of its own.

(Be present.)

The mind with a heart of its own.

(It's past.)

The dream that is your waking life.

(Go there now.)

chemistry and christmas
2000-12-12

Yay! School is out! I took my finals yesterday (chemistry and English), so today, I am a free agent, and facing the usual letdown that always comes, well, with the end of everything, so I guess that would have to include the end of the semester.

I think I did well on my finals, but actually, I don't care too much if I did or didn't. One thing that kind of bothered me yesterday: I spent most of Sunday studying chemistry with Malarka and Roseanne, but I since I wasn't really depending on my final grade to do anything but keep me in the range of an A (ie, I wasn't hoping to get a perfect score on the final in order to bring my grade up to a C or anything), my heart wasn't really in it. Anyway, when we reviewed this certain section, I scoffed at the idea of reviewing a type of problem that had a specific formula that you had to use to solve it. And, of course, that formula/problem-type turned up on the final. And so I'm sitting there, taking the final, thinking: "Gee! I feel bad that I scoffed at this problem because if Malarka and Roseanne listened to me, they're going to get this wrong!" As if I am responsible for how well they do on the final! It kills me.

Blah. Blah. Blah.

So, the family's christmas plan of "sponsoring" another less fortunate (I feel somehow that that also should be in quotation marks) family is coming along nicely, despite the mental setbacks. By that, I mean, both my older brother and I had very similar reactions to the situation (wondering whether it was a good idea to begin with, wondering at the high level of contact with the family/loss of our and their anonymity, wondering whether we are doing the right thing in the first place, wondering whether the family is truly "worthy," wondering if we're going to show up to the family christmas gathering sans gifts only to find that everyone else has broken down and purchased gifts for us, etc.). However, we did go shopping last night and Rudy bought for the little girls (Dora and Alicia) a couple of teddy bears, two sweat suit type outfits, and two shirts each; while Max and I have purchased a pair of shoes for each, some art supplies (which I am gathering slowly and which as of right now include a 96 box of Crayons, colored pencils and markers, scissors, construction paper, watercolor paints, and some fun 10-color pens--that is, one of each thing for each girl), a couple of storybooks and diaries and some candy. That is a "so far" list, as we are also planning on buying them coats and perhaps gloves and hats (although I will probably abandon the hat idea, as I recall when I was a child that neither my friends nor I ever wore hats even in the coldest weather. Maybe if this were upstate New York or someplace, but in NM, it doesn't ever really get so cold that lack of a hat is all that crucial). My mother has already finished her shopping, having bought an outfit and pair of shoes for each, a pair of Barbie roller blades and appropriate safety equipment for the older girl, and a "karaoke doll" (complete with microphone) for the younger girl. (Both gifts were requests from the girls in response to a query from my mother.)

I'm happy that we're doing this, because christmas had really turned into some kind of lackluster gift-fest around here: Maybe if we can do something for people who are really in need, we can get back to the "true spirit of christmas." (Yeah, get back to a cliche. That's an appropriate goal. I certainly don't think it, and I am disgusted with myself for even saying it.)

It's eleven in the morning, and I haven't done a bloody thing all day.

retreat or surrender

More lies:
Waking Sleeping Demons II - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2011
Waking Sleeping Demons - Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011
time - Friday, May. 20, 2011
- - Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2010
The Return - Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2010

� sublingua sublingua.diaryland.com.